PmWiki and Slideshare

Over the last week, I’ve spent a bit of time working on the PmWiki I use
to keep track of what’s going on in my office (e.g. projects). I changed
the name from Project Management to
Knowledge Management
since that title was more reflective of the
goals I had for it. Some of the modifications I’ve made have allowed me
the opportunity to explore PmWiki more thoroughly.

For example, I wanted to add floating tables of content to each page,
then pull those individual
tables
of content
into a master
page displaying all the content
. To accomplish that, I used several
PmWiki cookbook solutions, such as:

Another component I wanted to work on was including Slideshare. I
noticed David Warlick‘s CoLearner’s
Wiki
displayed slideshare slides, and I thought that was a neat way
to incorporate presentations. However, David uses this code:

However, I wondered if there might not be an easier solution to
incorporate Slideshare slides. Of course, there was! Googling it, I
stumbled upon this blog entry by Desinerd:

PMWiki is this really cool wiki platform, which is used all over the
internet for all kinds of collaborative purposes. Today, we at
slideshare have put out a “recipe” which allows you to easily embed a
presentation in PMWiki. The download
link for the recipe is here

You can just unzip and put the contents of this file into the cookbook/
directory of PMWiki. Then you can use the following tag to embed a
slideshow (:slideshare {presentation id}:) Where the {presentation
id}
is the part of the slideshow URL after http://www.slideshare.net
For example: http://www.slideshare.net/nmenap/machu-picchu-77777
will have the following embed code (:slideshare nmenap/machu-picchu-77777🙂

Unfortunately, having incorporated other cookbook solutions, I knew
something was missing–what goes in the CONFIG file of PMwiki. To find
that, I actually ended up at the PMwiki
Cookbook site
(which is where I should have started), where I found:

For SlideShare , use slideshare.phpΔ and add the following to config.php

include_once("$FarmD/cookbook/slideshare.php");

Put
in the unique ID for the movie, not the whole URL, something like
(:slideshare jbrenman/shift-happens-33834:)

That means that instead of that long code David has on his PmWiki to
display a Slideshare slideshow, he could just use this:

(:slideshare dwarlick/literacy-learning-in-the-21st-century:)

That’s an improvement! Makes me want to use Slideshare more. You can see
how I’m using
it here as a way to share favorite presentations from slideshare
.
I’m still working on this page, though. I have lots of stuff to add to
it and these favorite presentations will be replaced eventually with my
own…thanks to David for the inspiration and the Slideshare/PmWiki
folks for the cleaner solution!


var addthis_pub=”mguhlin”;


Subscribe to Around the Corner-MGuhlin.org


Be sure to visit the ShareMore! Wiki.


Everything posted on Miguel Guhlin’s blogs/wikis are his personal opinion and do not necessarily represent the views of his employer(s) or its clients. Read Full Disclosure

Leave a comment