I stumbled on Jay Greenlinger’s blog earlier today and bookmarked his blog to revisit and subscribe via Feedly.com. In his blog entry on 5 Things We Have to Stop Pretending, he writes the following:

1. Teachers should be completely in charge of student learning.
2. Technology is the answer to our problems. (Yes, I am a Tech Director)
3. Large scale testing provides us meaningful information about a student, classroom, or school.
4. We need to have an adopted curriculum in order to have a coherent curriculum.
5. Change in pedagogy and curriculum can be incremental.

I immediately had a knee-jerk reaction because I read these as assertions of what Jay supported. Then, a moment later, I realized, he meant the opposite of what was written:

  1. Teachers should NOT be in charge of student learning. Instead, students could be.
  2. Technology is NOT the answer to our problems, but probably should be a significant part of MOST solutions.
  3. Large scale testing does NOT provide us with meaningful information about a student, classroom, or school, but there’s no reason why meaningful, authentic assessments couldn’t do that…right?
  4. A quality curriculum that makes sense doesn’t have to be an adopted one.
  5. Changes in pedagogy and curriculum happen suddenly.
What are your thoughts about his points? I wonder if they aren’t obvious. Since, as we all know, being obvious doesn’t mean that people still won’t continue to fail to change. For example, and I apologize in advance, people know when they are overweight, but fail to make the changes needed to lose it (hey, before you get mad at me, I fall into this group of jolly happy people (rolling eyes)).

Still, if I had to pick ONE of these items, I would hope that people stop pretending that large scale testing provides us meaningful information. High stakes testing is the greatest boondoggle perpetrated on school systems.


Everything posted on Miguel Guhlin’s blogs/wikis are his personal opinion and do not necessarily represent the views of his employer(s) or its clients. Read Full Disclosure

