Source: David Truss, Solving Interesting Problems
Amazing, isn’t it, when you stand at the edge of tomorrow…last week, I was a Director of Technology. Next week, I’ll be a Director of Professional Development for the TCEA. This week, though, I’m enjoying Spring Break off, cleaning out old wardrobes and celebrating my 26th Wedding Anniversary with my wife, Monica, on St. Patrick’s Day (Thursday, March 17th). 

I’m grateful for so many things this week, including Alexis Cline’s efforts to share the image shown right on TCEA’s Facebook page by way of welcome, but also for the good times reflected in the photos featured in the collage.

Earlier today, the nephew of a colleague called and he asked me, “How did you get to where you are now?” What a fascinating question. As I took a moment to reflect back upon the path taken, I realize that while I thought it was purposeful and direct, in truth, it was quite circuitous. What seemed like the best decisions made objectively are actually course adjustments, as if you were climbing a mountain and taking the route that made sense in the moment.

I’m not saying I’ve reached the summit of that particular mountain, or that I may soon find myself plummeting to the bottom. Rather, that following one’s passion and enthusiasms will certainly lead you on an adventure of some sort…whether it’s the sort you want, well, that is a matter of attitude and “adjusting your sails.”

For the nephew, just graduating from Texas A&M with a degree in Business Management, I have counseled him to build up his certifications and focus on opportunities that would give him experiences in the areas he was most apt to develop his passion and knowledge.

David Truss shares the image at the top of this blog post. It reflects a few truths I’ve committed to:

  • A positive attitude
  • Openness to unexpected discoveries
  • Remembering that we are all invited to learn anew every day.
How did I get where I am now? By being committed to assisting others get better, as well as being committed to enjoying what I’m doing.

Everything posted on Miguel Guhlin’s blogs/wikis are his personal opinion and do not necessarily represent the views of his employer(s) or its clients. Read Full Disclosure

