As I look back over the years, I can’t help but get a bit teary-eyed at the loss. My life changed in so many ways around that time, and it’s not easy to leave the past behind. And, it was all so much controversy, such an eye-opening experience that left me wondering, “Did I make the right decision?”

You see, my iPad 3rd generation, which I used almost every day since I bought it in March, 2012, has died. At the time, I thought it was a great investment…given that I have used it every single day since I bought it, I realize I got more than my money’s worth out of it!

Maybe if I could install GNU/Linux operating system on my iPad, it would be vibrant and alive again, but as of right now, the sound is dead, and it’s behavior erratic. With several other computing devices, among them an iPhone 6, an Amazon Fire, a Chromebook (Acer C720), a Mac Air, and a Dell Latitude 3340 (last 3 work devices of differing ages), I’m not sure an iPad will be needed.

I spent almost $1,000 on my iPad 3rd gen…64gigs of storage, which I never filled to capacity although I gave it my best shot. Fortunately, consulting was still a big thing in 2012, and I was able to afford the almost $900 iPad, and then about $100 in critical apps. Keynote, which was free, was worth the power alone, simply because it made it possible to embed video in the slideshow.

But now, I have to admit that my iPhone 6 is powerful enough to do video editing, and if I really have to get something done, I’ll probably do it on there. Otherwise, Chromebook+Screencastify+WeVideo+YouTube will be sufficient.

Still, I will miss some of my favorite apps:

  • Explain Everything

 Ok, that was a short list. The rest of my favorite apps, I hardly ever use anymore on the iPad, instead relying on my iPhone or Chrome/GoogleApps. And, all the video apps that I once watched television and movies on, well, those work on the $34 Amazon Fire I bought on a whim. Whatever will I do with the old charging cables scattered throughout my house? I wonder if I can use them to power my iPhone without “over-charging” or causing iPhone battery problems.

For now, farewell, iPad 3rd gen. You were my faithful companion all these years, and truly broke my grip on the keyboard for consuming content. But, you know, there’s no friend like an old friend.


Everything posted on Miguel Guhlin’s blogs/wikis are his personal opinion and do not necessarily represent the views of his employer(s) or its clients. Read Full Disclosure

