Image Source: http://bit.ly/1Xto8ey

I’m sure you’ve read the old classic, Two Wolves (A Cherokee legend), story of the grandfather and his grandson, but if you haven’t, I include it below again. It also inspired me to write my own wolf tale, so you’ll find my tale right after it…maybe you’ll suggest a title?

An old Cherokee is teaching his grandson about life. “A fight is going on inside me,” he said to the boy.
“It is a terrible fight and it is between two wolves. One is evil–he is anger, envy, sorrow, regret, greed, arrogance, self-pity, guilt, resentment, inferiority, lies, false pride, superiority, and ego.” He continued, “The other is good–he is joy, peace, love, hope, serenity, humility, kindness, benevelence, empathy, generosity, truth, compassion, and faith. The same fight is going on inside you–and inside every other person, too.”
The grandson thought about it for a minute, then asked his grandfather, “Which wolf will win?”
“The old Cherokee simply replied, “The one you feed.”
Source: http://www.firstpeople.us/FP-Html-Legends/TwoWolves-Cherokee.html

What a great story. Just this school year, I shared it with one of my team members, and she revealed that she had not heard it before. Then, in a moment I treasure, she made the effort to share it at a coaching session. For a learner who shares his learning, few moments are sweeter.

Tonight, I realized that I had a wolf tale in me. Here’s my attempt at writing a story, perhaps one that you have experienced in some form or another:

An old hunter took a walk in the forest with his son. From the path ahead, vicious snarling could be heard intermixed with a rare whimper. Cocking the hammer on his flintlock rifle, the old hunter took the lead, signaling his son to silence.
“What is that?” asked the boy as a dry twig exploded beneath his bare heel. In the dawn’s light, a magnificent wolf snapped at the steel trap it had blundered into.
“That’s the wolf that ripped up our milk cow, ain’t it, Pa?” the boy asked. “Will you shoot it?”
The old hunter’s face, still and quiet, bespoke of peace. He passed his rifle to the boy, and with a quiet calmness, edged slowly towards the wolf. It stared at him with dark malevolence, fear, anger and damned desperation. As the hunter stretched his hand out slowly to the manifestation of his nightmares, the wolf grew pensive. Making soothing noises, the hunter gently extricated the wolf’s paw from the trap. With the wolf ready to snap, it’s lips pulled back in a silent snarl, he made sure that the leg was not broken.
As the hunter and the boy watched the wolf limp, then lope away, the boy asked, “Why didn’t you kill that mean wolf?”
The hunter, with a restrained smile, smoothed the boy’s hair, and said, “I wouldn’t leave my own worst enemy in a steel trap to die slow.” With that, he took back his rifle, slung it, and headed for home.
Source: Miguel Guhlin

What do you think of my wolf tale?


Everything posted on Miguel Guhlin’s blogs/wikis are his personal opinion and do not necessarily represent the views of his employer(s) or its clients. Read Full Disclosure

