Reflecting on Beginnings #linux

Jack Wallen shares his story about he got into GNU/Linux, How learning Linux Jumpstarted my Career:

My introduction to Linux, and all that came from it, was thanks to an insatiable curiosity and an inordinate frustration brought on by Windows. What was yours?

As I think back to my first experiences with GNU/Linux, which take me back down the trail of years (wow, 12!) when I imagined myself quite content with my Mac and Windows skills…but GNU/Linux remained a mystery I had to explore. It didn’t quite materialize until I found myself needing to connect my Windows only scanner to the only computer I had, a bondi iMac. Thanks to YellowDogLinux, it was possible. Later, I graduated to UbuntuLinux, and a host of other distributions.

What GNU/Linux gave me was choice. My knowledge enabled me to use Moodle, WordPress, setup UbuntuLinux-based servers and earn more for my family.

And, it remains a worthwhile choice.

Image Source
http://iamsimplyblessed.files.wordpress.com/2013/05/1new-beginnings.jpg


Everything posted on Miguel Guhlin’s blogs/wikis are his personal opinion and do not necessarily represent the views of his employer(s) or its clients. Read Full Disclosure

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

