Mourn Your Space

Doug “Blue Skunk” Johnson writes of his last column:

My last column in LMC (Library Media Connection) came in yesterday’s mail. To say it was a bittersweet experience is an understatement. And it may well be that I am the only person for whom this end has much meaning.

Well, Doug, let me tell you that you’re not the only writer to mourn the loss of his column. I still remember the death of my columns in TechEdge, T&L, Education World publications. The loss of those taught me the beauty of blogs…not having to worry about editors’ changing the leads, and the freedom to write a column (or not) as I felt necessary.

Although I’ve been tempted several times to write a column, I love the fact that I can write in my blog and reach an audience of people who may be MORE passionate about the content than a casual reader of a published/online magazine audience. It may be less folks, but interactions are quite rewarding.

That positive thought aside, there’s no reason to not pause for a moment to mourn a space that’s been lost. Fortunately, Twitter and blogs bring us closer to our readers!


    


Everything posted on Miguel Guhlin’s blogs/wikis are his personal opinion and do not necessarily represent the views of his employer(s) or its clients. Read Full Disclosure

One thought on “Mourn Your Space

Add yours

  1. Hi Miguel,

    This year I will go from two columns to zero. The LMC column I voluntarily retired; Ed Leadership fired me (the tech column will now be written by classroom teachers, as I understand it.) I don't think the Ed Leadership people every got over having to actually pay a writer, not that it was much, and I got into it a couple times with my editor this year who decided on occasion she preferred her writing style to mine, getting the facts wrong in the process.

    I will keep blogging, as you suggest, and see if I still have some articles in me. I DO still like to appear in print for what it's worth.

    Appreciate knowing that someone else has had this experience. Thanks for the post.

    Doug

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

