Relax, this isn’t about faith and spirituality. Or, is it?

My response to News-O-Matic included the following response:

What do you think? Can technology inspire students to develop the habit of reading? One of my favorite stories is that of my son, an avid gamer. He started at a young age watching me play video games…there was nothing I could do to keep him away from watching me play Doom. In fact, it wasn’t long before he could tell me where to go in a maze or how to figure things out. From that point, I fondly remember him playing video games with me for awhile…one of his favorite games was Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic, which often reminded me of those old Zork games where you have to choose your next move.

To overcome an obstacle, my son would have to figure out the right combination of steps. Online, you can find entire web sites dedicated to overcoming these obstacles and presenting the right combination…they are text heavy sites, and my son started some of his first reading with those web sites.

I’m not sure I’d say that having access to technology itself is inspiring, but what is inspiring is access to other’s ideas…technology is a gateway, a doorway to information, ideas about whatever we are interested in, which is essentially, reflections of our own desires/interests mirrored in others.

Image Source: http://goo.gl/t2gXHa


View my Flipboard Magazine.


Make Donations via PayPal below:


Everything posted on Miguel Guhlin’s blogs/wikis are his personal opinion and do not necessarily represent the views of his employer(s) or its clients. Read Full Disclosure

var _gaq = _gaq || []; _gaq.push([‘_setAccount’, ‘UA-3445626-5’]); _gaq.push([‘_setDomainName’, ‘mguhlin.org’]); _gaq.push([‘_trackPageview’]); (function() { var ga = document.createElement(‘script’); ga.type = ‘text/javascript’; ga.async = true; ga.src = (‘https:’ == document.location.protocol ? ‘https://ssl’ : ‘http://www’) + ‘.google-analytics.com/ga.js’; var s = document.getElementsByTagName(‘script’)[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s); })();

