Having played around with my share of email clients (e.g. Thunderbird, IceDove, the horrible (IMHO) Evolution, on GNU/Linux distributions (e.g. PeppermintOS, Lubuntu/Ubuntu (I hate kubuntu), #! and others), I found myself looking for something new and lightweight.

Although I started with Opera browser’s Mail component, I promptly discovered that OperaMail is its own standalone program available on Windows. While I avoid Windows OS like the plague, it’s nice to know I could use OperaMail on that if I had to. In the meantime, OperaMail is integrated into its browser but I simply stick the Mail part of it, and don’t really use the other features.

Opera Mail Setup

I hadn’t considered OperaMail as a viable alternative, even though it is cross-platform, supports IMAP and POP.  After a weekend of playing around with it–running 3 email accounts of my handful through it–I am generally pleased with it.

My plan is to setup BitTorrent Sync and sync the hidden .Opera folder with all the settings to other machines and see how that works out. Of course, one could also just copy the .Opera folder to a USB flash drive (gasp, encrypt it first).

These days, with so much email being archived in the cloud, I just need something to shuttle email from one cloud account to a private cloud one. Opera Mail can certainly help out with that…and it doesn’t hurt that it has a built-in web browser, although not as robust as Chrome or Firefox.

An email client seems so boring in cloud mail and with tools like CloudMagic on mobile devices, but can be essential when you’re moving emails from one account to another (e.g. GoogleApps for Education account to your personal Gmail or vice-versa).


View my Flipboard Magazine.


Make Donations via PayPal below:


Everything posted on Miguel Guhlin’s blogs/wikis are his personal opinion and do not necessarily represent the views of his employer(s) or its clients. Read Full Disclosure

var _gaq = _gaq || []; _gaq.push([‘_setAccount’, ‘UA-3445626-5’]); _gaq.push([‘_setDomainName’, ‘mguhlin.org’]); _gaq.push([‘_trackPageview’]); (function() { var ga = document.createElement(‘script’); ga.type = ‘text/javascript’; ga.async = true; ga.src = (‘https:’ == document.location.protocol ? ‘https://ssl’ : ‘http://www’) + ‘.google-analytics.com/ga.js’; var s = document.getElementsByTagName(‘script’)[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s); })();

