Private Internet Access – It works and great price!


As my daughter went off to college, she remarked that she’d have free WiFi in her apartment.
“Really?” I asked. “Is it encrypted?”
“No,” she replied. “Does it need to be?”

Data theft occurs at several different levels online. First, your data can be stolen by hacking into your social network and email accounts. Secondly, your data can be phished using emails that appear to be from valid sources. Finally, your data can also be stolen by wiretapping/eavesdropping on your internet connection both via wire and wireless connections.
ETHEREAL and WIRESHARK provide criminals access to your network traffic whether on wired or wireless connections. These softwares are free and available for anyone to use and download with minimal computer knowledge. 

Source: Data Theft, Private Internet Access

Of course, that kicked off a whole discussion on the issues with using unencrypted WiFi that you find offered free…well…everywhere. Although I’ve always had the good fortune to be on encrypted networks, whether at home and work, I’ve been a bit worried about her doing all her online banking, etc. via unsecured WiFi network that anyone can snoop on…having explored snooping myself, just to see if a low-tech person (wink) like me could do it, I was shocked.

So, I sent out a tweet yesterday and asked around. Wes Fryer (SpeedofCreativity.org) suggested Astrill, a recommendation that was backed up by another in my network. Unfortunately, after doing the math, I realized that this solution wasn’t going to work for my budget.

Reluctantly, I turned to the next best solution on the list, TorGuard. And began an epic journey that ended with me a bit irritated (enough to post 2 negative tweets) after 3 hours of suffering. I cancelled the TorGuard Pro account after banging my head against the screen of my Ubuntu 14.04 laptop. Although the support folks insisted, “We can get it working! Just give us a chance!” the fact is, anything that is that hard isn’t worth it.

So, what to do?

What success looks like using Private Internet Access via DNSLeakTest.com


My daughter texted me, “Why don’t we try Private Internet Access? The price is right–$40 per year for 5 devices!” I signed up and Ubuntu laptop was connected instantly. Apparently, their instructions actually worked (unlike, in my experience, TorGuard). I mean, it was that easy. The setup is drop-dead simple on Android and Mac (Windows, too).

Features:

“Privacy is the number one concern for our VPN service. Logging directly compromises that privacy, and also slows down the efficiency of an internet connection. When using a VPN service, privacy, speed and connectivity are all important factors to bring customers a better service. In order to provide the most private, efficient and high-speed VPN service to our customers, PrivateInternetAccess.com does not maintain any logs of any kind, period.” (Source)

  • Secure VPN Account
  • Encrypted WiFi
  • P2P and VoIP Support
  • PPTP, OpenVPN and L2TP/IPSec
  • 5 devices simultaneously
  • Multiple VPN Gateways
  • Unlimited Bandwidth
  • SOCKS5 Proxy Included
  • No traffic logs
  • Instant Setup


I can’t emphasize the highlighted item enough–Instant Setup! Check the pricing online.

You might find this review and walkthrough worth watching. (I didn’t and was able to set up quick…also, Android works great)




View my Flipboard Magazine.


Make Donations via PayPal below:



Everything posted on Miguel Guhlin’s blogs/wikis are his personal opinion and do not necessarily represent the views of his employer(s) or its clients. Read Full Disclosure

var _gaq = _gaq || []; _gaq.push([‘_setAccount’, ‘UA-3445626-5’]); _gaq.push([‘_setDomainName’, ‘mguhlin.org’]); _gaq.push([‘_trackPageview’]); (function() { var ga = document.createElement(‘script’); ga.type = ‘text/javascript’; ga.async = true; ga.src = (‘https:’ == document.location.protocol ? ‘https://ssl’ : ‘http://www’) + ‘.google-analytics.com/ga.js’; var s = document.getElementsByTagName(‘script’)[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s); })();

