Note: Over the next few weeks, I’ll be reading Eric Scheninger‘s book, Digital Leadership. Eric was kind enough to send me a copy and I’ll be sharing my notes and thoughts as I work my way through it. I’m honored that Eric sent me a print copy to read and share my thoughts on. Comments in square brackets are mine, the rest is the author’s.


Howdy…I skipped Chapter 7 on Branding in this series…you may want to buy the book to get access to some of the neat ideas about how to establish a brand for your school. If you’d like to find out what the rest of the book has to say, I encourage you to buy it! It’s a must-read for school leaders!

My Notes

  1. It is essential for principals and school leaders to develop professional learning networks both within and beyond their local organizations.
  2. A connected leader is still supported by traditional networks but now has the ability to tap into other professional learning resources using digital tools.
  3. “It’s hard to describe how great the impact of my PLN has been,” Lyn Hilt states. “I am definitely a changed leader because of the connections and relationships I’ve formed. There’s nothing like needing support or an idea and reaching out to hundreds, even thousands, of other educators for feedback. I’ve been introduced to ideas and content I never would have learned through traditional professional development. Forming a PLN is a necessity for any school leader who wishes to grow professionally” [exponentially?]
  4. There is no cost for this powerful opportunity to grow…all it costs is an investment of time, which we ultimately determine. Leaders who embrace a digital style understand this investment is necessary to create the types of schools needed to prepare students for a digital world…leaders must put in the time.
This is my last entry on this great book. While my first impressions focused on how it echoed messages we’ve encountered via other books and authors–mainly that getting connected with social media is powerful growth agent that transforms–my impression has evolved to appreciate the specific examples and how this message has manifested itself in Eric’s work.

There’s a lot more to read in the book and I hope you’ll consider reading the book

View my Flipboard Magazine.


Make Donations via PayPal below:


Everything posted on Miguel Guhlin’s blogs/wikis are his personal opinion and do not necessarily represent the views of his employer(s) or its clients. Read Full Disclosure

var _gaq = _gaq || []; _gaq.push([‘_setAccount’, ‘UA-3445626-5’]); _gaq.push([‘_setDomainName’, ‘mguhlin.org’]); _gaq.push([‘_trackPageview’]); (function() { var ga = document.createElement(‘script’); ga.type = ‘text/javascript’; ga.async = true; ga.src = (‘https:’ == document.location.protocol ? ‘https://ssl’ : ‘http://www’) + ‘.google-analytics.com/ga.js’; var s = document.getElementsByTagName(‘script’)[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s); })();

