“My Moodle has been hacked,” started an email a few weeks ago, “I need help!!!!!” No hyperbole, after 4 emails begging for intervention, I discovered that the small business owner hadn’t updated his Moodle 1.8 installation in years. For the next few hours, I tried several techniques to try to rescue the hacked site, but it was all for naught.

“Well, then,” he said disgustedly, “just set me up a new one.” At that point, I realized how great it would have been for the small business owner to have had a reliable Moodle hosting service. What’s worse, they charge for minimal access to the Moodle (e.g. little or no access to phpMyAdmin and the databases available, only course creator rights rather than Moodle admin rights). That’s a darn shame and led me to throw up my hands when chatting with one large urban school district who was having to deal with a vendor. Unfortunately, the two Moodle partners I’ve priced in Texas are increasingly expensive, as one survey I sent out recently to Texas technology directors revealed.

As a result, I’m pleased to announce that PCPal Solutions–which has bandwidth to burn, server space galore, server administrator/moodle admin support available at competitive cost–is available to host Moodles.

If you’re interested, fill out this short survey!


Check out Miguel’s Workshop Materials online at http://mglearns.wikispaces.com


Everything posted on Miguel Guhlin’s blogs/wikis are his personal opinion and do not necessarily represent the views of his employer(s) or its clients. Read Full Disclosure

var _gaq = _gaq || []; _gaq.push([‘_setAccount’, ‘UA-3445626-5’]); _gaq.push([‘_setDomainName’, ‘mguhlin.org’]); _gaq.push([‘_trackPageview’]); (function() { var ga = document.createElement(‘script’); ga.type = ‘text/javascript’; ga.async = true; ga.src = (‘https:’ == document.location.protocol ? ‘https://ssl’ : ‘http://www’) + ‘.google-analytics.com/ga.js’; var s = document.getElementsByTagName(‘script’)[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s); })();

